Blackeyed Peas & Cornbread

June 14, 2011

Sounds like the makings of a fine Southern meal doesn’t it? In another posting it very well could be, but not this time. Today’s post deals with the stark differences I noted from my previous writing.

Recently, someone took a couple lines from the song “My Humps”(Black Eyed Peas)  while discussing an issue of weight. The woman who delivered the lines did not recall (so she claimed) who actually sang it.  I knew. In my younger years with my teenagers in the house, I did listen to some of the stations that carried it. Regardless, I decided to google the song and make sure due to a doubting Thomas in the group. Here are parts of the song:

[Will.i.am]   Whatcha gonna do with all that junk

All that junk inside that trunk..   [Fergie] I’ma get get get get you drunk Get you love drunk off my hump…

If you want to read the rest , I found it at http://artists.letssingit.com

When I read through the whole song it  pained me to think I listened to it and really liked the hypnotic effect it has through the music and rhythmic word flow.  I immediately thought about the contrast between these  young people (each 30 at the time of the song 2005 if the stats are correct) and the old gentleman who at HIS age of  thirty was watching his children grow. It isn’t that these two may not have families and not being current with ‘stars’, I don’t really know and really don’t care. My point is how far removed we’ve become in the last 50 + years. Recently when I visited the nursing home I noted how an old gentleman in spite of his shaking hands attempted to put his used napkin in a small container that I had used to discard the ones I had wiped my mother’s mouth with. He was ever so careful to seek out that little container and when I realized what he was trying to do, I pushed it towards him so he could accomplish his mission. Even now, he reaches back and retains the memories of manners. Folks, we have lost them for the most part. But, I have made myself be aware more and more and have determined, that as one individual I can do something about my own self. I hope that by doing so, I can remind someone else of long ago lessons.

Leave a Reply

