Sometimes…

June 5, 2012

it’s like I’m looking through a large picture window. I watch silently as others parade by through venues of family, work, worship, weddings, funerals, anniversaries, holidays, etc. repeating themselves year after year through the course of this life. I sit and watch  on some days. Other times I stand at a distance and look at those who are involved in the situation. On occasion, with nose pressed so close I can feel the warmth of my own breath, I stare into the scene, trying to see how all this is taking place and longing to be there to help me understand and have  connection.

The conclusion comes to me as I turn and walk away. It is a window for gazing; not to call out to, nor join myself within its framework. In the hall  I  stare at  my reflection in a mirror. In bed, my eyes close waiting for the night to give my mind rest. I have no part of  what is another’s. I have only what is mine.

Leave a Reply

