Actions Speak Louder Than Words…do you think this true?

May 20, 2013

Today’s society casts an interesting reflection upon the long held saying. On the one hand, words are said and spread as easily as softened butter across a piece of toast. Next, the crunchy mellow slice is consumed in a steady action till one’s mouth and hands are cleansed by the humble napkin that dutifully waits its turn. Afterward, the words are spoken, “What I really wanted was a jelly doughnut, but I’m on a diet.” While placing the order the request may have come in the following manner: (cheerful tone) “Yes, I think buttered toast and coffee is my choice this morning.” Immediately your breakfast friend slides into the booth ordering The Triple Waffle And Bacon Ticker Special. Ha ha. Ha.

Even though the toast was drawn out in art form, (both buttering and eating) the fact is, a jelly doughnut was the real desire in spite of the actions and words (including cheerful tone). In the end, true words came out even though the *correct* action was taken.

Actions and words are interchangeable, no doubt. The thing I ponder is how far down the rabbit hole does it take us as individuals and as a society?

I’ve never went for toast if a jelly doughnut was what I wanted. I learned for myself, I’m better off to eat what I want and crush the craving. Actions speak louder than words–continue to really THINK about this.

Leave a Reply

