I Like Old Things…

June 18, 2013

Books, furniture, buildings, even some people. Of course I don’t like ALL things old. I much prefer fresh food, water, and air, but you know what I’m talking about. Right now I’m reading “Farmer Boy” by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I find myself constantly salivating over the food Almanzo describes as his days on the farm prepare him for a satisfying life of a farmer like his father. I remember my mother describing her life growing up on a farm. Although it was quite different than Almanzo’s, she still had the same love of the land. She said that when they would go into town on Saturdays and shop, whenever they got close to home, even the air smelled fresher. My grandfather loved it and his son even though he never ‘farmed’, always kept a garden until his age prevented it. I remember when my children were small, him bringing tiny eggs and I dyed them for Easter. For quite a while I never bought eggs from the store. Each week he brought Mama eggs for us and we ate them and never missed the cold storage ones a bit. The deep orangy-yellow yolks just can’t be beat in my opinion. Almanzo Wilder had the secret to happiness, I do think. He enjoyed his life and was grateful for the bounty of the land that God gave them. Who can ask for anything more.

One Response to “I Like Old Things…”

  1. gary Simmons said

    Did you ever geta double yoke egg. It meant something when I was a kid. I don’t know what. I think, good luck.

Leave a Reply

