Thanksgiving…

November 27, 2013

As I write this, the fireplace is warm with a snapping orange glow that pushes back the coldness of the day. Nightfall is nearer than not and I’ve put the finishing touches on my part of tomorrow’s Thanksgiving supper. Tuesday was my biggest cooking day as I prepared the dressing and baked it. I’m hoping the flavors will be enhanced with the extra time, like spaghetti. You know, how sometimes the sauce is better a day or so later. Now I’m free to relax and enjoy my time until we travel to the relatives with the goods. Today I listened to an elderly man who spoke of remembering the holidays with his family, but now he is the lone one. I find myself intently observing him in the way he speaks about such things and note that overall, he has a pretty good attitude in his adjusting to it. I always interact with him because number one, it is certainly good manners, and also because I want him to have the dignity of speaking with at least one person who will not only hear, but listen to him. These are things I am striving for these days. To hear and listen better. It can make for better decisions in so many arenas of life. Here’s wishing you all a Happy Thanksgiving.  

Leave a Reply

