Six Points towards Happiness…??…

August 11, 2015

In 2010 there was a book that came out entitled, “The Depression Cure”, by Stephen S. Illardi, PhD. The six points I refer to are those that his book settles on to be the ones that can help you from succumbing to depression in this present modern day of fast, faster, fastest living. I must confess I have never read the book, only looked at the introduction and some reviews.  The points are:

1. Omega 3 fatty acids
2. Engaging Activity
3. Physical Exercise
4. Sunlight Exposure
5. Social Connection
6. Enhanced Sleep
The ones I consider a challenge at the moment are #’s 2 and 5. An engaging activity for me would be something like a class or maybe attending a house of worship…or maybe a club of some sort. I do none of these for various reasons. The same on # 5, and in my mind it runs along side of # 2.
Having never read the book I know I need to in order to see what he constitutes as the differences (if any) between the two. The social connections I have are mainly through occasional calls or texts. Even then, most people are so wrapped up in their own lives that I get the feeling that I’m always last on the totem pole if I receive a call/text from them. I’m like their ‘down time’. I have, on occasion, connected with these people to see if they wanted to do something and most often, it isn’t a good time for them. Years ago I would make a point to call and set up things to visit or whatever. Somewhere along the way I decided to stop it and see what happened. Chirp, Chirp, Chirp, go the proverbial crickets. I’m to the place now I don’t really care. I am the convenient one, but what isn’t realized is how I’ve actually turned tables. My books are my friends. I can set outside and stare at the backdrop from my house. I can take a pen and paper and write or draw. My pets love me. They are happy to see me all the time. Thirty minutes away and they greet me with the longing of a six month away trip!
Okay, back to the points. They are simple points, but stepping out to do these two points I’ve talked about will be a challenge. I need to do it though.Isolation is lonely. Texts can’t go to the bookstore and comment on their own. They can’t walk with you and look at the artwork on the museum walls. In truth, social media is very lonely. It has no facial expression. It is a mechanical thing that throws up some smiley faces or maybe frowns…
This is the next book on my list to read. In the meantime I’ll start applying the points and see what happens.
 
One Response to “Six Points towards Happiness…??…”

  1. These are great ways to be happier! I mostly wrote about ways to be happy on my page. The most popular one is laughter!

Leave a Reply

